RSS Feed

Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette -Salute to Colors

Cold Loney Night, Saliors Salute a Lowering Flag

 

Recently I found that wordpress’s blogging site has weekly challenges. I love challenges that push my writing and help me grow. This is my response to the weekly photo challenge.

One of my fondest memories of my time in the military has to be the traditional “Colors Ceremony”. Many military rush to get out of the line of a salute, but I always found that I took a little longer to get where I was going so I could enjoy the flag raising or lowering. There is something about this time honored tradition that makes you stand a little taller. It makes you feel a deeper pride than you thought possible.

This night that the picture was taken was one such night. I was on watch, and as I carried a gun, I was unable to salute, but this one night I took a quick photo with my camera. I couldn’t help but take a picture of one of the few sacred moments that all military past and present can understand.

Stop and watch the ceremony sometime. See the ones who stand tall and proud. Know that they willingly give up their lives for yours. They still see ole glory flying when others don’t. Watch older vetrans…. I’ve seen men barely able to move, stand and salute. It brings a tear to the eye.

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

2 responses »

  1. i love this! :) very powerful.

    Reply

Stop by and chat a while

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 655 other followers

