RSS Feed

Home to go please…. Would you like fries with that?

You know one of the strangely best things about being a military wife? If you don’t like this house, you’ve only got a couple years there and then its off to another one. My hubby and I bought a house when we got married. It’s a great house, don’t get me wrong, but with me being in the military as well, I came and left too much for it to ever be a home. Now I’m out and I feel hopeless to try to fix messed up colors and try to turn this into a real home.

But, it’s no sweat off my brow! Hubby’s orders don’t last forever and then we are on to greener homes… at least that’s what I tell myself. I’m sure I’m not the only one who does this, but I tack paint colors to the walls, have my fridge covered in “future” home ideas and I’m forever looking at quick fix ideas since I know not every place I live has storage.

My little boy’s room doesn’t have a mural on the walls like I’d love, but I am in the process of making him little name blocks that I can pack up when we leave. My pets have a collapsable kennel for if they are bad, but mostly their toys are in a toybox too. I’ve learned to make cleaners instead of buying them, because there is always a list of products you can’t take to the next home.

It’s made me adaptable, it’s made me creative, and mostly it’s made me a bit of a minimalist. Do you love it? Do you need it? Toss it.

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

Stop by and chat a while

