RSS Feed

From Journaler to Blogger

A walk in the woods

Ever feel like you should be writing something important? Something epic, or maybe something that will change someone’s life. I’m not really sure today is the day for that, but I feel like I SHOULD write today for some reason. Baby blue wasn’t ready to get up from his nap, I gave him another bottle and let him drift back up. The dogs are napping yet again as well. So I’ll take a few minutes to write. No it won’t be life changing. And no it won’t be inspirational. But I HAVE to write today.

I’ve heard a lot of flack about bloggers lately. I’m not sure why, but it seems like the fact that they are willing to share parts of their life is “a waste of time”. Or that they should be doing something more important. Here’s the truth. I’ve been a journaler since I was 8. That’s boxes and boxes of journals that have been filled and are currently sitting lovingly in my garage since I haven’t the nerve to go back through them or the nerve to throw them out. I have taken the time to write through my feelings, and days. Through joys and sorrows, confusion and anger. I have written because it gave me a sense of sanity in a world we can’t always control.

My parents thankfully have always encouraged privacy and therefore I knew if I left a journal out it would not be read by my siblings, or by the whole world. But the older I’ve gotten the more I’ve realized I don’t need pure and utter privacy anymore. And sometimes the situations I go through are exactly what someone else needs to hear. That someone is going through the same thing and here’s how they are doing it. Maybe my life can be a light to one person. That something I’ve lived or breathed will make a difference to someone else. Maybe someday I’ll go back and give you a little of my past, but at the moment, the present is enough to handle.

Remember when myspace was the thing? It was the original facebook. Well I had to request that they send me my password this week. I had fun going through old posts and photos. When I’m done I will delete the account, but for the next few days I’ll probably mull through my past. While I was musing, I ran across old photos that made me smile and remember some time or other where life was good and I enjoyed every minute of it. I thought maybe you’d like to see a couple of them.

Before Hubby and I ever dated

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

Stop by and chat a while

