RSS Feed

We All Fall Down

 

We All Fall Down

 

Mr. Blue Eyes has discovered the wonderful world of standing. Not just standing, he’s in such a hurry to walk that we have a lot of falls. I’m sure most mommy’s can relate to that panicky feeling, “is my baby okay?” Yet we have to stand by and watch. At the moment he is standing with his new toy crying since he bonked his head on the handle. As a mommy I have a couple choices:

a) cuddle all his owies away

b) let him himself and know he’s okay

c) give him a kiss, tell him he’s okay and stand him back up.

Sometimes the right choice is the hardest. I had to stop writing for a moment to give my baby a kiss. A kiss and a “big boy” made him smile and try again to stand up. I’m glad he loves his new walking toy. He tries to stand all the time so it helps to have something else he can hold on to. But there are always moments like now where I have to take the toy away and let him try again later.

It’s good to allow my kid to try new things. It’s good for him in the spirit of adventure, and it’s good for me to remember that all I can do is guide. Some day he’ll have to try things on his own, and I won’t be able to step in and help. Today it’s standing, tomorrow it’ll be running, down the road some day it will be kindergarden and eventually he’ll enter the world on his own with only our love to carry him.

He’ll hopefully enter the world with little fear knowing mommy and daddy will be there to help him up. For now, I get to kiss and cuddle the owies. After he is done with his toy we’ll cuddle up and read a book. Enjoy some mommy time. After all, we all fall down. It’s only the brave who get back up.

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

Stop by and chat a while

