RSS Feed

Teacher Me?

Life had a funny way of going in circles. I started off after school with learning to teach and listen to other people. Spent more time than I have ever cared to on stages speaking in front of crowds of people. I put all of that aside for another communication job, an Air Traffic Controller. Pilots lives depended on my ability to communicate and make quick judgements. After the military, I decided I just want to cut hair, which I was surprised at how extremely vocal it is. You have to be extremely social and able to put your own life aside to talk to your customers/guests. Who would have thought my past would have given me the perfect ability to be able to do just that? For someone who isn’t the most social person, I seem to continually pick jobs where communication are key.

Today Mrs. H sought me out to see if I would be willing to teach some of the newer students how to braid. I thought my days of public speaking were over, but the next thing I knew I stood in front of a class teaching 15/20 kids (okay adults) how to do different types of braids. It was actually a challenge for me. I know how to braid, but it’s one thing to do it and another thing to teach it. I showed them several different types and then walked around as they tried different ones and helped with hand positions and how to manuever the hair. It was fun. I’m not used to getting to show people how to do something.

Afterwards one girl came up and asked how I learned to teach. How do you learn to teach? You have to assume they know nothing without making them feel like they are ignorant. It’s all about teaching people with respect and letting them know they can do it. Besides everyone learns differently. If you give me blank stares I need to back up and try a different approach. I’m not the best teacher in the world, but I really do want to help people reach their full potential.

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

Stop by and chat a while

