RSS Feed

Who are you scamming now?

PHONE SCAMS

Today was interesting that’s for sure. I have been called several days in a row by a restricted number… Knowing I have a lot of friends still in the military I generally answer it if it’s a reasonable time. Today cracked me up. It was from “The GLOBAL SERVER”. The global server? You’ve got to be kidding me….. As in internet server? I wasn’t born yesterday. My dad had me typing before I could walk, okay maybe not taht early, but pretty close. To sit and listen to a guy saying my computer’s ip address is hacking into their server makes me want to laugh. You’ve got to be kidding me.

Here’s a little bit of what’s wrong with his spill, to find out more about how the internet works try http://computer.howstuffworks.com/internet/basics/internet-infrastructure2.htm.

#1 The internet is a COLLECTION of servers, not one global server.

#2 There are modems that dial to connect.

#3 If they had wanted to get my attention a POP address would have caught my attention better. That is the Point of Presence, what region does your computer access in?

#4  Routers….

  • It ensures that information doesn’t go where it’s not needed. This is crucial for keeping large volumes of data from clogging the connections of “innocent bystanders.”
  • It makes sure that information does make it to the intended destination. (how stuff works)

So how is my computer hacking through all of this while I’m not even on it? Right…. Thank you Global Server…. a call to my dad confirmed my suspicions and I’ve had my laugh for the day. I have requested they don’t call me again, but if they do, I’m going to have fun with this. :0)

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

Stop by and chat a while

