RSS Feed

Conquering Fears and Mountains

Sir Edmund Hilary, the first man to climb Mr. Everst

Today was that dreaded day…. You know you have had that day. The calendar counts down to the date you have circled. And as much as you dread the coming of it, eventually you get there. It’s much the same when a loved one has to leave, or you say good-bye to your teens, or in my case it’s a visit to the dentist.

I feel sorry for dentists. People dread and fear them, even if they are trying to help. In my case, the dentist is generally the bearer of bad news. You need braces, you have to have your wisdom teeth out (twice), your sealants have come out, your jaw has been popped out of place, or today the navy messed up your filling. Looks like we need to take an x-ray.

The tooth has been bothering me since the navy put the filling in. It never bothered it me before they touched it, now it hurts all the time. Finally today they saw the pain it caused. Then the dreaded news, we need to take an x-ray, you may need a ROOT CANAL.

Not only did I not get sleep last night because of hubby’s new schedule and baby blue teething, now I’m at the worst place possible, and facing one of my worst fears. Thankfully this dentist believes in doing the least amount possible when it comes to pain. A quick x-ray revealed that I do not need a root canal. My filling was just poorly done and will need fixing replaced.

So back to the dentist I will be going. On the plus side, they said my teeth are great and the only problems I have are the ones from the old dentist. Next week I will be numb and in pain at the same time.

On a brighter note? My little blue eyes has figured out how to pull himself from standing on the floor onto the couch. The kid can’t walk yet, but he can get onto the couch? I’m in so much trouble. He sat there grinning at me like he had just climbed Mt. Everest. Then proceeded to chow down on poor Domino’s tail. Sorry pup, the couch is no longer safe place for you to hide.

It is amazing to me the wonder baby blue finds in the world. It makes you stop and see things in an entirely new light. I watched him climb the couch like it was the greatest feat in the world. I watched him dive into mommy’s bucket of yarn scraps and have a ball rolling around on the floor with it. Of course untangling each one was quite the chore, but well worth it to see him and the puppies playing.

The world gets smaller as you get older. It will never seem quite as big as it does right now Mr. Blue Eyes. I hope as you grow we’ll continually find things to astound you, and I hope I have the chance to re-enter the world through your eyes.

 

 

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

One response »

  1. Oh I hate dentists so so much.. not been in 25 years.. I will do anything to avoid it.. fingers crossed my good run lasst but we both know it won’t .. shudder.
    Having little people is so sweet. I wrote a blog post on it here.http://flyonthewalljamyd.wordpress.com/?s=parenting+the+good+bits
    Have a good day 🙂

    Reply

Stop by and chat a while

