RSS Feed

Never Give Up, NEVER Surrender

Baby Blue with Daddy’s uniform

On a day like today, you almost can’t go without mentioning the tragic disaster that happened eleven years ago. In honor of all of those who were affected personally by the collapse of the twin towers, and those who were effected as a people. It seemed to be a wakeup call to our generation, that freedom is never free, and there will always be those who would take it from us. Those who attack not only our home, but our peace of mind and the foundation on which our nation was formed. No matter what God you believe in, no matter what your heritage, and no matter who you voted for as president; we were all affected.

It’s part of the reason I chose to serve in the military. I had a choice and I thought that one enlistment to protect my home and family wasn’t horrible. Eleven years later people still band together on this day to protect and help eachother in honor of those no longer here. Baby blue eyes is here beside me trying to chew on my laptop’s cord. He has no idea the horrific events that happened so long ago. His little smiling face is the reason people are still so upset at what happened. Little ones like him will learn about it in school. They’ll learn that brave men and women went to make sure that he had the right to go to school. That he had the right to a normal, happy childhood.

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

One response »

  1. Definitely a day that shaped us all. My uncle was in the Pentagon when the plane hit. At this point he didn’t even know about the towers because he was working out. I thank God that he is still alive. It is amazing that our kids will learn about a day in school that we will always remember vividly.

    I was in homeroom, which was handbells. We were practicing and my teacher came in with a shocked look on her face. I remember being able to hear her faintly on the phone. All I could hear was “You’re kidding… you can’t be serious.” Then we turned the TV on and saw what we thought was just some freak accident. Waiting all day to hear if my uncle was alive or not was torture. I will never ever forget that feeling for as long as I live. Before 09/11/01 I didn’t even know what the word “terrorism” meant. It is a day that has shaped us all. I pray that our children never see anything like this.

    And I am so thankful that there are people like you and my cousin willing to fight for our freedom. You’re all very loved and appreciated! 🙂

    Reply

Stop by and chat a while

