RSS Feed

A piece of Pumpkin Spice heaven

Delicious cupcakes hot out of the oven

I have been having serious junk food craving for the last week or so. I’ve been trying so hard to be good, but it’s hard with these wonderful food holidays coming up. Just think of it, as Americans we have some amazing food traditions, and we get to take from all other cultures too! It doesn’t matter, there is food everywhere! So in a festive mood, I made pumpkin spice cupcakes. They were delicious. I made them last night, and I didn’t even need frosting on them. I love cupcakes that taste more like muffins.

This hit the spot with my sweet tooth, and thankfully it’s healthier than some of the other choices I could have made. My suggestion, have a glass of hot tea with it, and wait till the little ones are in bed. It was a nice mommy alone time snack. Pardon the picture, it was taken with a little bit of a crappy camera. I still haven’t fixed my nice one.

Here’s the recipe I used:

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/pumpkin-spice-cupcakes/detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Title&e11=pumpkin%20spice%20cupcakes&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&e7=%2fmy%2frecipebox%2fdefault.aspx

Ingredients

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoonground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoonground nutmeg

1/2 teaspoonground ginger

1/2 teaspoonground cloves

1/2 teaspoonground allspice

1/2 teaspoonsalt

1 tablespoonbaking powder

1/2 teaspoonbaking soda

1/2 cupbutter, softened

1 cupwhite sugar

1/3 cupbrown sugar

2 eggs, room temperature

3/4 cupmilk

1 cup pumpkin puree

Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting

1 (8 ounce) packagecream cheese, softened

1/4 cupbutter, softened

3 cupsconfectioners’ sugar

1 teaspoonvanilla extract

1 teaspoonground cinnamon

Directions

  1. Preheat an oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Grease 24 muffin cups, or line with paper muffin liners. Sift together the flour, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, clove, allspice, salt, baking powder, and baking soda; set aside.
  2. Beat 1/2 cup of butter, the white sugar, and brown sugar with an electric mixer in a large bowl until light and fluffy. The mixture should be noticeably lighter in color. Add the room-temperature eggs one at a time, allowing each egg to blend into the butter mixture before adding the next. Stir in the milk and pumpkin puree after the last egg. Stir in the flour mixture, mixing until just incorporated. Pour the batter into the prepared muffin cups.
  3. Bake in the preheated oven until golden and the tops spring back when lightly pressed, about 25 minutes. Cool in the pans for 5 minutes before removing to cool completely on a wire rack.
  4. While the cupcakes are cooling, make the frosting by beating the cream cheese and 1/4 butter with an electric mixer in a bowl until smooth. Beat in the confectioners’ sugar a little at a time until incorporated. Add the vanilla extract and 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon; beat until fluffy. Once the cupcakes are cool, frost with the cream cheese icing
About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

Stop by and chat a while

