RSS Feed

Weekly Writing Challenge: Leave my kid at home? I think not.

My son enjoying cake at a wedding I was a bridesmaid for.

The Post a Day challenge  is one that I have mixed feelings on. Should children be allowed everywhere people are? Part of me agrees wholeheartedly that they should be allowed, but then again I’m not exactly going to take my baby boy to a bar. It’s not that I don’t think he’ll behave. It’s that I don’t want him to see bad examples. There is a difference in having a drink and getting drunk.

Do I believe in taking my kid to a nice restaurant? A definite yes. P.F.Changs even offers a complementary child’s fruit plate. They were so kind to my little chomper. Even the other couples around told me how well behave my nine month old is. We don’t always take him. Date nights are still just hubby and I, but at the same time, I want my son to know how to act in these places as well. There is no reason we shouldn’t enjoy a nice meal as a family.

When I was stationed in Virginia there was a mall that was strictly for adults and supervised children after five pm. While it was nice to walk around and not have to deal with thirteen year olds thinking that they are all grown up, it bothered me that they could make such rules. The mall itself was a place most teenagers don’t want to go. The stores were upscale stores that catered to adult wants and needs instead of Spencer’s or Hot Topic.

I’ve taken Mr. Blue Eyes to nice restaurants and the movies. We might get dirty looks at first, but within five minutes you can see our baby boy isn’t loud or annoying. The only people he could possibly annoy are the people who have to clean up after our table. Even then, I do my best to clean up the table or pick up the chunks of bread on the floor.

I’ve seen children that are well behaved and they are welcome at any place I am. What I do have a problem with are the children who run their parents. They are not disciplined, not well-mannered and think that all places are a jungle gym. It’s not the children I don’t want around, it’s the parents. I don’t want parents like that around my kid in general. If my son screams in a public place, I either discipline him on the spot or I take him out of the room so that the people around me can continue enjoying their evening. I don’t ignore the issue and pretend that everything is okay.

Many times have I gone to a restaurant only to be appalled, not at the children in the next booth, but at the loud annoying adults. Adults who seem to think they are the only people and opinions that matter. They treat the waiters/waitresses shamefully and don’t even bother to leave a tip for their rude behavior. More than once my husband and I have left an even better tip than normal because we feel bad for how the other people acted.

I fully plan to have my son go to nice restaurants. I plan to teach him about art and music. If that means I take him to museums and operas, then so be it. If he’s well behaved, just watch someone try to tell me otherwise. I want a well rounded child. I want a child that has a future and knows how to handle himself in all situations of life. How do they learn to do that if I as a parent never take them somewhere where they can learn?

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

5 responses »

  1. What a beautiful parent you are! A lovely heart and an exciting vision for a child definitely affects where he goes and where he doesn’t. Nice post!

    Reply
  2. Well done! I totally agree with you,recalling,when my children were boys,that we used to go out as ” a family”! Must say that they were very wise boys and that was a “conditio sine qua non”……Hugs!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Children in adult-oriented places: a collection of [random] thoughts! « 3rdculturechildren

Stop by and chat a while

