RSS Feed

Breast Cancer Fighters

Breast Cancer Awareness Scarf

My breast cancer awareness scarf

October is Breast Cancer Awareness month. I’m sure most of you have heard that by now. If you haven’t I’m glad I could be the one to bring it to your attention.

The pink infinity scarf in my picture was my latest project in crocheting. I decided to go with pink to show my support for breast cancer awareness. This is an amazingly simple crochet scarf from Caron yarns. If you would like the pattern please click here for the link. I love how beautiful the scarf turned out. I think I will also make one in a hot pink to show support.

My Grandmother is a cancer survivor.

A few years ago she was diagnosed with invasive cancer and went through major chemotherapy. After many many nights filled with prayer, and several scary calls, the cancer went into remission. Sadly in the past few months she was diagnosed with noninvasive cancer. She is currently in her second round of radiation, and thankfully it is going well so far.

My Grandma thankfully knew the importance of yearly check ups and the cancer was found in a curable amount of time. It has made me aware of the thousands of women AND men who face breast cancer every year. I’m proud of my grandmother. She has not given up fighting, and enjoys the little things in life. Treatment has been hard. There were days when we prayed that she would pull through. There were days I’m sure my grandmother didn’t want to get out of bed. Like all of the women in my family, she is a fighter.

Facts about Breast Cancer:

  • One in Eight women will be diagnosed with breast cancer.
  • Breast Cancer is the second leading cause of death in women.
  • Cancer chances are increased with drinking and genetics.
  • Exercise and eating healthy can lower your chances of cancer.
  • Breastfeeding lowers your chances of getting cancer.

Cancer impacts everyone involved. Hearts are fearful and it is extremely easy to fall prey to discouragement. Over the years we as a people have become more aware of the situation. We have the Susan Komen walk for the cure, research centers and support systems everywhere. I know this is a bit of a somber post for me, but please women, get checked regularly. If you aren’t sure, it’s always better to be safe than sorry. There are many posts that you can look into for more information and help. Here are a few websites I found with more information:

 

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Here a project, there a project…. everywhere a project. | Military Bride

Stop by and chat a while

