RSS Feed

The holidays are chaotic, and it’s all MY FAULT!

01

 

Everyone agrees the christmas season is one of the most wonderful of the year. There’s something almost magic in the air, and even if you hate snow (like me) you can’t help but be in awe of the crisp chilly mornings. So in all the holiday cheer, how did I let myself get so overwhelmed?

It seems to happen every year. Last year for christmas I was nine months pregnant and just the effort to decorate a tree was exhausting. This year I’m three months pregnant, and the chaos is starting to roll in with the mist. The piles of laundry, the toys on the floor, the dogs tore apart yet another stuffed animal. I found dishes in Mr. Blue Eyes room, apparently the dogs stole them and dragged them in there. The playpen still has traces of kix and you can’t even see my kitchen table.

So taking a deep breath and venting to my hubby more than once, I’m finally calm enough to enjoy the holidays. My house is full of clutter, and the laundry is still folded on my bed, but I feel calmer. Mr. Blue Eyes is enjoying some macaroni while I take a moment for myself.

So what that my hubby isn’t here to help get ready for vacation? I can find peace in packing, for me it’s all a mind change. Instead of rushing around throwing things in a bag, I cuddled with Blue Eyes through a couple cartoons, and loaded the dishwasher. I had to stop to pull out all of Blue Eye’s toys that he snuck in there, but it made me laugh. Then Blue Eyes and I tackled the laundry. He’s figured out how to pull clothes out of the washer, but he hasn’t figured out that mommy wants them there. That resulted in a tickle fest and a giggly baby.

The pups are still asleep, but that’s fine with me. I’m not quite ready for their energy yet. I’m sorry to our house sitter if the house isn’t spotless. I really did try, but I’m not going to let chaos take over my holiday season. It’s time to take things a moment at a time. Maybe Blue Eyes and I will even decorate some cookies or something…

Please leave any chaos free ideas you have. I have trouble relaxing when there is a lot to do.

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

3 responses »

  1. Dump it all in a spare room and shut the door to be tackled in the new year? 🙂

    Reply

Stop by and chat a while

