RSS Feed

Where did January go?

Mr. Blue Eyes on his rocking Giraffe

Mr. Blue Eyes on his rocking Giraffe

Wow, Time has been flying. The last time I believe I posted my baby boy had just turned one! It’s hard to believe that I am already almost 5 months pregnant, and that soon we will be welcoming Mr. Blue Eye’s little sister into the world. It seems like every day Mr. Blue Eyes learns something new. He now tells me thank you and wet. He has decided to veto nap time, but he really still needs them, so we have a routine now to make it easier on mommy.

I wish I could say things were more exciting, but I’m thankful for a break. We never did get all of our belongings back from the robbery, but our insurance was amazing and we have been able to replace some of the most important things. Such as a computer for school work and some of the tools my hubby needs for finishing some home improvement projects. His latest project was to cut a whole in my wall to begin a built in bookshelf. We desperately need storage in this house, and I can’t wait to have my books and movies off of the floor. Not that I mind, but Mr. Blue Eyes has a fascination with pulling them all off of the little shelves he can reach. I find them all over the house.

We are ordering a potty for him soon. Everyone keeps telling me it’s a little early, but he is fascinated by the potty and is starting to tell me when he’s wet. He also likes to go around naked and we can usually catch him before he can pee. So we may have an early potty trainer! It would be nice to have him mostly trained before our baby girl gets here. I know there will be remissions on some things, but he really does like to be a big boy, so I’m hoping for the best.

School for me is almost finished. I’m down to about 130 hours. It will be a bitter-sweet ending. I really do enjoy school, despite the fact that it is a beauty college and there is a lot of drama. I love doing hair every day and finding out the proper way to do a facial or remove hair. There are so many areas you can go into with licensing. I can’t wait to find what area I like best. I have my state board paperwork in. They messed it up a little so I will be almost nine months pregnant when I take my test, but at least I will be near an Air Force Base, so if anything happens, I can get in right away.

I’m not sure how I’d feel about having my baby somewhere else. Air Force bases are amazing for family care, but I really like my doctor here. She was fantastic with Mr. Blue and even though I had to be induced, I felt almost no pain in childbirth. I could tell them when I was having a contraction and they didn’t have to monitor the contractions at all. It’s funny how even you’ve had a baby, you are still afraid of childbirth. I made it once, and yes it was horrible pain physically even if I couldn’t feel it, but some of the migraines I’ve had seem worse. Maybe because after a baby you get the beautiful result. At the end of a migraine, all you feel is dear God don’t let me have another one.

My hubby is doing well in his school as well. His school can’t be as fast paced since he is still in the Navy, but he takes two courses at a time and should be finished next year. That will be nice because even though he has an officer’s package in already, this will give him another way to try to make rank. He likes being in the Navy, but sometimes I know he wishes he would have finished his degree first and then gone in. Here’s hoping everything is in his favor! His test scores were really high, so I’m hoping that will help him. We won’t find out for almost a year, but the rate January flew, I’m sure it will go quickly.

The pups are getting big these days. The smallest one is now Domino. Gamble will probably be as big as Blackjack is (105 lbs). Bear may get as tall but he will always be lighter and skinnier. Domino has settled down now that he has had his second birthday. And yes, my puppies get carrot cake on their birthdays. He is definitely my dog and has been my faithful companion with pregnancy, the same way he was during Mr. Blue. Blackjack is still the same sweet old man that he has been. Everyone always wants to buy him from us, but at seven my hubby would kill anyone who tried. He moves slower now when it’s cold. I think his hips bother him, but I’m still surprised that he can keep up with the pups. Gamble is very hard headed, but he’s also the only one who lets Mr. Blue climb all over him. He is very patient and just lays there till little man gets bored and wanders off. Bear has turned out to be a mommy’s dog. He lays right on top of me if Domino doesn’t already have the stop. He wants love and attention all the time. He grumbles a little at the baby and doesn’t always get along with the other dogs at the park, but I think that’s because he’s the runt. He’s still a good dog and thankfully they chew less than they used to.

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

One response »

  1. Got it Ashley love keeping up with you with these blogs. Glad the pregnancy is going well and glad you got these to me Love ya granddaughter

    From iPad John

    Reply

Stop by and chat a while

