RSS Feed

Letter to Mr. Blue Eyes

Baby Blue and his Dragon

Baby Blue and his Dragon


My dearest son,

We went to the store today, and I was reminded of how truly beautiful you are as a baby. Everyone loves your bright blue eyes and big smile. I don’t say that because I’m partial, I say that because your daddy and I want you to grow into a man worthy of the admiration you get right now. Right now people say how beautiful you are, or how happy of a baby; in the future I want them to say what a man of worth you are.

My son, you have your mommy’s temper. In the future years we wil have to work together to help you control your temper. My little man, it’s going to be rough but mommy loves you no matter how long it takes us to work on it.

Baby blue, you are going to be a handful when you are older. Those blue eyes are the same ones your mommy fell for with your daddy. I pray that you will find a girl who is worth you taking care of. I pray you learn to be humble in your appearance, and I pray that you learn to be gracious to any girl that you do not share feelings for. I hope you learn to not lead someone on and treat all women with respect. Your daddy still opens the door for mommy and takes care of her.

I hope that you learn to work hard for what you want, and never feel entitled to anything. Your family worked hard for what they wanted, and they do their best to teach you the same. Yesterday we laughed as we watched you find pennies all over the house and run back to your froggie bank and put them in. Even though it was so cute to watch you running back and forth, we really want you to learn to save your money and value a penny.

Right now your discovering the movie Cars. I don’t mind watching it 100 times. It makes you laugh every time. Even sitting here I can hear Matter say, “Dents are valuable.” Baby boy, I know it’s a line in a movie, but it’s so very true honey. Life is going to leave scrapes, and bumps and bruises. But those “dents” make you stronger. As long as you learn from each one, they can turn you into a man of character.

I know it’s going to be rough when we have your baby sister, but I hope you love her as much as we love you. She is yours to play with, fight with and protect. She will look up to you and I hope you will take care of her. Show her how to be gentle with the puppies. You love to have them chase you around. I’m sure she will too. Even though mommy and daddy will have to give her a lot of attention, we won’t love you ay less.

We may move a lot. Daddy’s job requires it. I hope you make friends easily and learn to love the adventure. We will do the best we can to help you learn from the places we go. That you will do well in school, but learn from life as well. Even if you don’t agree with every person or culture, there is something to gain from them. Even if it’s just how NOT to act. :0)

So baby blue eyes, enjoy your crochet blankies and sweaters now. Play with your counting books and puzzles now. Run around and learn. Get into things and play. Don’t stop exploring, you help mommy look at things from a new way. Baby boy, mommy and daddy love you.

-Mommy

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

One response »

  1. As always my dear friend, you write beautifully.. I read this and thought of your little man instantly.. It brought tears to your old friends eyes..

    Reply

Stop by and chat a while

