RSS Feed

Enjoying the weekend

This is the first time in a long time that everyone has had a full weekend together. Hubby’s work schedule has been changed for about the fifth time in two months, and he will be working days for a week or two. I feel so bad, he gets the worst of it normally. He is so used to nights that he has a hard time waking up in the morning, and can’t sleep until late in the evening. As soon as he starts to be okay on days they always put him back on nights. This back and forth thing is killing him. Part of me wants to be like, get used to it, we have another baby coming; but this is ridiculous.

Little boy blue is finally sleeping, an hour after he was put down for a nap. Up until a few minutes ago, you could hear him playing with his toys and probably talking to Bear. Bear is notorious for going into Blue’s room while he is trying to sleep and sitting there whinning until Blue wakes up. Then you can hear the two of them going back and forth until Baby Blue decides he wants out. When Bear was a puppy we used to put him in the crib with baby Blue, but we stopped that when Bear kept getting his tail pulled. Didn’t want Bear to loose his temper one day. I think he may be old enough that when Baby Blue is in a real bed, Bear may try to sleep with him.

Hubby and I celbrated our fourth anniversary this week. Because of all the time schedule changes, and pregnancy, we didn’t do anything big, but we did get a sitter and get some food. It was nice to be able to go walk around without baby blue. He’s too cute for his own good, but grown up time was much needed. When us kids were little, we used to go on “daddy dates”. It was great to have one on one time with dad and do something fun. Those dates always ended with ice-cream. It wasn’t a date until you had ice-cream. The first time Hubby took me out around my parents, dad told him to make sure we got ice-cream and of course my hubby looked at me funny. I had to explain that it’s not a real date until there’s ice-cream. So to celebrate our anniversary, we got milkshakes! Some traditions just get better with age. I’m pretty sure, we’ll always have ice-cream at the end of a date, even if we split one.

Soon we will have to fit mommy-son dates and daddy-daughter dates inbetween hubby and I spending time together. It’s going to be fun to take the kids out seperately and enjoy a small tradition from my family. Just one day that is completely theirs with things they like to do.

Other than spending some much needed time together, we mostly just lounged around. Hubby put up a hammock in the back yard. I really want to try it, but the awning isn’t as stable as it could be, and I’d really rather not fall. Maybe I’ll see how the guys hold up and then try it. :0)

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

Stop by and chat a while

