RSS Feed

The Mommy who Cried Labor…..

its a girl
As the time draws close, I feel like a new mommy again. I can’t remember the hiccups and pains that I swore I’d never forget. Blue Eyes was by definition an easy pregnancy. The biggest problem I had with him was that I had a hip pop out of place and nobody told me I could have a chiropractor put it back into place. So for the last trimester, walking was extremely painful, but having puppies and a hubby who worked at night, I walked through the pain. Little Miss is different though, I have a ton more of those annoying Braxton Hicks. Sometimes I can time it down to where I start to think “uh oh, this might be it.” But as soon as I go to call my hubby or wake him up, or whatever, next thing I know they have disappeared again. Talk about feeling like the boy who called wolf, or in my case the mommy who cried labor.

I find myself panicking at the things that need to be done still. I have a babysitter for Blue Eyes, at least until my family can come…. and I have a couple friends I know who would be willing to be backup, but I’m still nervous. Blue Eyes has never spent a full night away. I know he loves the people who offered to watch him, but what about bedtime? Or not really bed time, it’s more of the waking up in the morning. He did well with my little sister, Bing; but Bing has a similar temperament and personality to me. Plus we look a lot alike. Once he realized she was good he spent weeks looking for her after she went back home.

My house is a disaster zone. Between hubby trying to finish his school, and me trying to finish mine, nobody ever has time for basic cleanup. We struggle to even get the dishes done some days. It’s starting to bother both of us. I did manage to get most of the clean clothes folded today. A major improvement from the laundry basket they’ve been living in. The puppies got their summer haircuts and BIL is back from seeing his son. SO I really shouldn’t be worried right? Well there’s still a dozen things on my mind.

I need Hubby to re-stain the dresser in the garage so I can get little miss’s clothes organized. Thank goodness for a sister with a little girl. I haven’t had to buy any clothes unless I just couldn’t resist. Blue Eyes needs the too small clothes removed from his closet yet again. I swear he’s growing too fast, he’s already over 32 inches tall! But he’s so skinny we have to get those pants with the draw elastic in them. SO out go his clothes. I need a nice big container for those. Hubby isn’t ready to get rid of them yet because we are undecided on how many kids we actually want.

Oh and that mommy hospital bag? I have to laugh at the idea. I read post after post, and blog after blog on what I would need. Yeah, I ended up sending hubby home a couple times to take things that were pointless and get things we needed. I remember being grateful for my own shampoo, my own pillow, and a blanket since our hospital is always freezing. He also had to bring me a baggy pair of sweats and a hairbrush. Anything else, forget it. I don’t care that my newborn pictures look like hell. It’s my little family, and I could care less what others think.
This time we have been looking at a “big brother” present that’s “from the baby”. People keep telling me to get him a baby so he has his own to copy mommy, but I’m not sure if that’s how we’re going to go. I have no problem with him having a baby, but he likes stuffed animals a lot, and he loves books. I’m thinking maybe just a couple of his favorites and then food. lol our little boy sure loves food. Anyone have ideas on what works with introducing a new sister to that young of a baby? Blue Eyes will be just over a year and a half when his little sister arrives.

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

One response »

  1. Stephanie Spiro

    You know you can call me anytime to come get that adorable blue eyed boy when sissy decides to arrive!!!

    Reply

Stop by and chat a while