RSS Feed

I don’t know why she swallowed a fly…… I think she’ll die (Memorial Weekend)

Blue Eyes is a Morning Bird and a Camera Ham

Blue Eyes is a Morning Bird and a Camera Ham

It was that kind of morning…. I’ve been slowly getting sick for a week or two. You know when you can feel it sneaking up for you and although you take all of your vitamins, you can feel it sinking in. This morning as I was cuddling with Blue Eyes, I felt all of a sudden like something was caught in my throat and started coughing. All I could think was oh great, it’s hit. Until I coughed so hard I ended up coughing up a fly. I know you eat like 8 spiders a year in your sleep, but I was awake. How the heck did I swallow a fly?? I’m officially grossed out. It’s one of those things that you try not to think about because it will make you queasy or not want to sleep. Or am I one of those weird people who sits there and are freaks out at the thought of what if I swallow a poisonous spider. Something I’ve freaked out about many times.

This week has been an adjustment. School is over and I’m readjusting to being a stay at home mom. Oh believe me, Mr. Blue Eyes has so much energy! I knew he was active, but sometimes I don’t realize it starts at 0730 and doesn’t end until bedtime. Even with nap times, you feel like you catch a breather and off you go again. Thank goodness for naptimes. :0) Tomorrow I will be 36 weeks. I can’t believe how fast the time has gone. I feel like there are a million things to do, but realistically all we really need is diapers and a car seat. We have clothes and bottles. We have a pack and play with a bassinet (same one from blue eyes) and honestly we aren’t much for decorating. My living room still only has thee pictures and looks pretty empty. I have newborn toys left from blue eyes, although some of them could probably use replaced.

Hubby got an actual three day weekend for memorial day…. Well sort of. A couple of his co-workers made rank this week and it was the frocking ceremony. He was asked if he would pin the new rank on their uniform. It may sound like a tedious task, but sometimes to be asked is one of the biggest honors. So he went in to work for them. He also used the time to help submit his officers package. I don’t know if you’ve had any experience with this, but I’m getting frustrated. He pointed out some issues (I am trying to be tactful here) a while back and while he did the right thing, it brought unwanted attention to his old work. Now they are fighting every technicality of submitting his package. It’s really annoying. We know there isn’t the greatest chance of getting picked up the first time, but we need it in so he has a chance next time!  

Our three day weekend also got interrupted for a Command Picnic, known by most military people as Mandatory Fun. While it can be nice to interact with some of the other families, I dislike dressing for a picnic that you’re going to get dirty. :0) Pleasantly enough, this was the most laid back command picnic I’ve ever seen. I do wish they’d considered a park or somewhere where the kids could run though. They rented a bouncy house for the bigger kids, but many of us had little ones Blue Eyes’ age. I let him run around the tables and climb on the benches because there was no way I was going to coop him up for the event. We didn’t stay long because it was during Blue Eyes’ nap time and I’ve been getting a lot of contractions lately. I’m thinking little miss may be in a hurry to arrive.

I do hope you will take a moment to remember our fallen veterans this weekend. I know this is a big bbq weekend, and a time for family. Please remember there are families who will be looking on this as a time for remembering and there will be tears shed this weekend. There will be veterans who stop to remember a friend who is no longer here, or even their own close call with death. Enjoy your family, and know we serve because we want to, but please don’t take that for granted. Your freedom was won with blood, sweat, and tears.

Shined and Polished

Shined and Polished

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

Stop by and chat a while

