RSS Feed

Crocheted Top Hats

Teddy Bear Top Hat

Teddy Bear Top Hat


Can’t resist this adorable face!
Blue Eye's Favorite bear modeling my new hat

Blue Eye’s Favorite bear modeling my new hat

I came across the cutest little crocheted top hats on one of my many pintrest time wasters. As soon as I saw it, I knew I needed to make one. The problem is that there are millions of patterns and they all have different flaws. One worked up beautifully, until I tried to make the rim of the hat. Another was horrible all the way through, and it never looked correct. Then I stumbled upon the most amazing pattern website. Everything about this lady’s blog makes me smile. The Blog is called “I’m Topsy Turvy” and it’s written by Ashlee. I used the pattern written here, making a couple little tweaks to the bottom sizing. I think if I make another one, I’m going to use some pipe-cleaners around the top to make it stand a little firmer. There was also the issue of a headband. The original pattern used for the hat used elastic as a headband, and with how sensitive my little blue eyes is, I found one crocheted to make sure it wouldn’t bother my baby girl. I found another pattern from Pintrest by a blog named JJ’s Crochet blog. I decided not to use the flower, but the headband looked stable and similar to what I looked for. That pattern is here.

The biggest reason I share all of the patterns I use is to make sure the authors of the patterns get as much credit as possible. After all, they make it possible for me to make these amazing creations! But also because I have a hard time buying patterns. There are so few people in the world who truly have the ability to make things from hand that I feel like they shouldn’t be hindered by a price tag. You aren’t stealing my living by using something I have created, you are making something that is truly unique to you, and I will encourage that in any way I can. The more confident you are in the projects you complete, the more willing you are to try new things. I wouldn’t have thought I could make a mermaid tail, or a baby cocoon, or even a top hat, but someone showed me how to read a pattern and it’s changed the way I see my projects. Now I can pull things apart and take patterns I never thought I’d be able to do. I also learned how to tweak or even make my own patterns for things I can’t find somewhere online. Occasionally I’ll buy a pattern, but it’s because that pattern is exactly what I wanted mine to look like.

-MB

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Here a project, there a project…. everywhere a project. | Military Bride

Stop by and chat a while

