RSS Feed

State Board and Crochet

baby's cowboy hat

baby’s cowboy hat


click here for the pattern….
http://web.archive.org/web/20060703174301/http://www.geocities.com/rainlm/cowboyhat.htm
I’ve been super busy lately, but I don’t want to go completely MIA. I finished my cosmetology test! AND I PASSED! It was a huge weight lifted off my shoulders. I woke up around midnight and couldn’t sleep. Since we had to leave at 2am anyways, I just stayed up. My poor hubby had been so afraid he would not be able to wake up, that he stayed up all night. So I drove us up there. We got there just in time for some breakfast and my test. Blue Eyes was so super good all day. Daddy even took him to a play center where he could climb all over plastic bugs. I saw a couple cell pictures, he had a blast.

The first part of my test didn’t go so well. I hadn’t been taught a couple of the things you needed to know, so I just stayed as clean as possible and winged it. Like I had no idea we would be nowhere near our table, so you need an extension cord. Otherwise your curling iron will come unplugged. Mine did twice. I never did finish the curl section. Everything else was super timed although the timer would go off at random times and you were never sure if you were supposed to stop or not. Half of the girls just kept working through all the timers. It was a little strange. Hopefully they all passed. About half way through we got a break. By this time I was having minor contractions and my feet were really swollen. My friend that had gone up with me was asking how I was doing and the other girls looked at me in shock because I’m due any day now. I feel like I look huge, but apparently it’s not as bad as I thought.

Apparently State Board doesn’t communicate really well, because the test lady never found out till we all walked back in from break. She asked me to please not go into labor and we’d be okay. :0) The second half went way way better. I grabbed a quick lunch with my hubby and blue eyes before going back to take my written. I sat down and the first four questions were on one of my biggest weaknesses. I answered as best as I could and marked the ones I didn’t know. A half an hour into the test, I had been through almost all of the questions and I was starting to second guess the ones I already had answered. So I took a best guess, prayed, and hit submit. Thank goodness they only made us wait about a half an hour until the results were ready. My friend was the first one called and we were super excited it was a pass! My name was second and I got nervous when she had me sign paperwork before telling me I passed. We had a nice drive home and I had contractions every evening since.

So for the last couple of days we’ve been getting the house clean, fixing up some older projects, and I’ve been crocheting a lot. I feel like I’m actually starting to get decent at crocheting now. I’ve been hesitant to post new projects because although I follow patterns, I tweak them so much they aren’t the original anymore. So do I share with you all the original, or my pattern? And if I do share with you my patterns, will you understand them? So I think for this time I’ll just post the picture and if you like it you can shoot me a comment.

project I completed for a lovely lady with a little boy.

project I completed for a lovely lady with a little boy.

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

2 responses »

  1. Baby Henry!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Here a project, there a project…. everywhere a project. | Military Bride

Stop by and chat a while

