RSS Feed

Guest Blogger: Mesothelioma Cancer Awareness

New Mesothelioma Statistics and Facts Page -Jennifer Bigaman http://www.asbestos.com/blog/2011/07/20/new-mesothelioma-statistics-and-facts-page/

New Mesothelioma Statistics and Facts Page -Jennifer Bigaman
http://www.asbestos.com/blog/2011/07/20/new-mesothelioma-statistics-and-facts-page/


Today is Mesothelioma Cancer Awareness Day.
If you’re like me, the most you’ve ever heard about it has come from the late night ads on television. A week or two ago I was contacted by a wonderful lady named Emily Walsh, who is the Community Outreach Director for Mesothelioma Cancer Alliance. Taking a closer look at the article, I realized that Mesothelioma is like Breast Cancer was ten years ago. It loomed around us all the time, but nobody really knew anything about it.
Here’s one of the big reasons Emily stumbled upon my blog…”United States Veterans are at the greatest risk….Many veterans and shipyard workers were exposed to high levels of asbestos from several different applications.” Military vetrans, service members still working, and shipyard workers are still exposed to this dangerous form of cancer. I don’t write often about life in the shipyards, but I would believe this statement. I can’t tell you how many nights I stood fire watch while they worked with chemicals that could catch fire. Do me and this wonderful group a favor and take a look at her information. 8 Things You Should Know About Mesothelioma The information could save your military man’s life.

If Emily’s article interests you, here is another site about Mesothelioma, including statistics by state.
Asbestos.com

-MB

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

Stop by and chat a while

