RSS Feed

Body Image

Mr. Blue Eyes always ready for the camera

Mr. Blue Eyes always ready for the camera

I’m so happy with my kids doctor. He is a really good pediatric doctor. Today was miss bug’s four month check up. Can you believe it? She’s already four months! Both of my kids have been healthy as can be, but they are on the light side. Blue eyes is always in the lowest portion for weight and highest for height. Miss bug is just small all around. The first doctor we had for little man kept telling me I had to put more weight on him and I wasn’t feeding him enough. Just while we were at the doctors, he would go through an 8 oz bottle with cereal in it. The doctor would try to tell me he wasn’t eating enough. Do you have any idea how much formula blue eyes used to go through? Blue eyes just doesn’t gain weight. Needless to say, I changed doctors quickly. Thankfully our doctor now understands that. He says as long as they grow at a steady rate for them, he doesn’t worry. Both kids are very very light, and have fast metabolisms.

You have no idea how much I prayed that my kids would get hubby’s metabolism. I like the way I am, for the most part. I have learned to be happy with the body I have and to appreciate the things that make me uniquely me. But I didn’t want my kids to have to go through their teenage years the way I did. I wasn’t really overweight, but I got chunky before I got tall, and I had a woman shape before any of my friends did. So I could never switch clothes or shop in the same stores they did. I appreciate it now, but at the time, it was really hard. Thankfully I had a mom that liked classic styles, so I learned really early to pick clothes that I could wear for years to come.

That doesn’t mean I want my kiddos to face the same things. I really hope I can teach them how to appreciate how they look at every stage. How to keep themselves healthy and active. Not so they look like a rail thin, but so they can have energy and a life. Believe me, I am struggling with that now. Two kids in two years, I’ve gained some weight that I’m struggling to get off. That and the migraine medicines made me gain a little bit of weight. So I’m hoping for my kids the same things I need to tell myself. I don’t have to be rail thin. I just need to get my butt moving! I need to get some of the extra weight off so I can keep up with two kids. I want them to enjoy camping and hiking, and I don’t want to die trying to keep up! Well that, and I don’t want them to get to go on adventures with daddy while mommy stays home. I want to be part of their adventures too. One day at a time! I mean my baby girl is only four months. It’s okay that I haven’t lost all the baby weight yet. It’s okay that my jeans are still about five pounds to small. I’ll get there. I just need to keep eating healthy and get my butt active.

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

2 responses »

  1. You got it girl!! You are still really young and have plenty of time to get a healthy weight. Oh ya, and your oldest isn’t even 2 yet…. Cray cray mamma.

    Reply
  2. You are so very wise!

    Reply

Stop by and chat a while

