RSS Feed

What School House Rock Taught Me.

I have been really busy with school. It’s been midterms lately and in-between studying and my babies, I really haven’t had time for extra writing. I have missed being here.

I have American History this semester. I love the teacher. She is passionate about the subject and gives you all kinds of information that you wouldn’t normally know. So the other day when she asked if anyone knew what the 19th Amendment was, I was surprised to find myself one of the only people who could answer it. Thanks to a wonderful little song by School House Rock, I blurted out the answer without even thinking. For the rest of the day, that catchy little tune wandered through my head. When I realized I had gone from Women’s Suffrage to Eli Whitney without even noticing the transition, I suddenly thought how I need to find those movies for my children. I’m crazy right? I’m going to have my almost two year old walking around singing I’m Just a Bill. But is it really crazy? Those movies dealt with topics that are normally really hard for children to understand. Not only were they hard ideas, the songs help you remember long into your adult years. Now I could probably use a refresher on some lyrics, but I can tell you all about how to pass a bill, what conjunctions are, who Eli Whitney is and what he invented, and a lot more.

The brilliant creators of School House Rock have my gratitude. I am not very good with political ideas, but their songs help me remember what and how things happen.

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

Stop by and chat a while

