RSS Feed

Screw the New Years Resolution

Grandpa and Snow White enjoying christmas

Grandpa and Snow White enjoying christmas

Christmas with Blue Eyes favorite things...

Christmas with Blue Eyes favorite things…

We all start the New Years with great intentions. We have so many things we’d like to do better, traits we’d like to be better at. The reason most of us fail in our resolutions, is that it isn’t something that hits home. You can’t automatically become great at running, eating right, etc. It requires one small decision every day.So I’m saying screw the New Year Resolution this year. I’ve been taking an inventory of my life, and I don’t have just one thing I’d like to do better. I’d like to re-straighten out my priorities, and live this coming year to the fullest.

My dad gave my husband and I a series on finances. NOT because we are irresponsible, but because we want to change the way we think. Leave a legacy for our children, instead of barely scrapping buy. We were happy to see that we are already doing some of the things they recommend, like an emergency fund or setting a budget every month. Other things we were doing, but somehow lapsed in the last six months. Giving ourselves an allowance was a huge one. We found when we actually give ourselves money we are less likely to go on “spending” sprees.

I’ve been off the computer for a couple weeks. Why? Quite honestly, I am a computer addict. I spend hours looking at the screen and then I can’t tell you what I just spent my day doing. So after a talk with my husband, I left my computer at home. I took a vacation with my family and left the computer, finished up my few projects and turned everything off. Even my phone stayed mostly off. It was a nice little break. It was hard though. I had to decide to live in the moment and not try to capture pictures on my phone. Not text six million people or respond to things that shouldn’t have my time anyways. It was hard. But honestly, I think I need to do it a little more often.

My babies will only be little once. Heck My Snow White already has two teeth and wants to eat people food. Blue eyes? Well he’s still my wild child, but now he wants his “colors” and “Cars” and “Water”. He’ll even lead me over to the shower and try to turn it on or ask for a “towel” when he’s all done. Time flies to fast for me to keep living the way I do. School shouldn’t come first. Neither should days so full that when I go to bed I’m beyond exhausted and I can’t wake myself up when the kids cry.

So to all of you wonderful readers out there. Keep this year about the things that are important. Take one step a day in that direction and soon resolutions won’t even be needed! You’ll be headed in the direction you want to go.

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

2 responses »

  1. I have been thinking about this a lot this year also. I think that one of the reasons resolutions fail so often, is that they are based on “SHOULD”‘s instead of “I want’s.” I should eat better, or spend less, etc, but if you dont want to, you are bound to fail.

    Reply
  2. Good for you on unplugging! I don’t think I could handle that!

    Reply

Stop by and chat a while

