RSS Feed

There’s no such thing as Terrible Twos.

2013 November 008

Forget the Cake, he found Dusty

Forget the Cake, he found Dusty

My birthday boy enjoying some cake

My birthday boy enjoying some cake

Blue Eyes and Snow White playing with cars

Blue Eyes and Snow White playing with cars

We celebrated Blue Eye’s 2nd Birthday this weekend! I can’t believe my little wild child is two years old. It’s been an interesting couple of years, but I wouldn’t trade it for the world. When I say interesting, I was putting my little Snow White to bed, and came out to find Blue Eyes had poured his entire glass of chocolate milk on the couch and was laughing as the puppies tried to lick it up faster than he could pour. Yes, my little man is two. Not to say I mind….

I do not believe in terrible twos. They may do one or two terrible things in their 2’s, but no kid is terrible. Kids are curious, and at two, that means about everything, especially boundaries. If I do this, how will mommy respond? The best thing I can do is keep my temper and correct the behavior. I’m not saying I am perfect. By all means I have had to put him in his room and walk out before I loose my temper, but I don’t want him to learn to loose his temper when he is mad.

I found a lovely little drawing on my living room wall this week. It’s about the size of a piece of paper and pretty well filled in. I didn’t see him do it, so all I can do is show him the drawing and tell him it’s not okay. It’s the same thing my sister had to do with my niece over Christmas, although it was impossible not to laugh when my niece kept pointing and saying, “pretty”. So the next time he had markers I watched him like a hawk. He didn’t like the paper he had so I gave him more, and more. I gave him so much paper he didn’t know what to do with it all and proceeded to draw on every page instead of my wall. I’ve also discovered he prefers markers or the twisty crayolas. So I bought twisties that have erasers on the end. When he tried it again, I told him no and showed him how to erase it. He spent several hours just erasing the wall. I’m okay with that. 🙂

That’s not to say he will be a perfect two year old. Dear lord, the child already knows how to climb on the kitchen counter when he sees a cookie. But, this year my goal is to replace the behavior with acceptable behavior and keep my temper.

-MB

PS. If you like my writing will you do me a favor and vote for me on Top Mommy Blogs?

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

Stop by and chat a while

