RSS Feed

Kicking my butt in gear

My daughter is seven months. I think it’s time I stop kidding myself. This weight is not coming off without some butt kicking. It was the same way with blue eyes. I had to stop hoping weight would come off and get myself in gear. I’m good at that. I almost like the torture of working out. Once I’ve decided to do it, I’m pretty good about following through. Well, until there are people around.

Realistically, I do not have time for the gym. As much as I prefer it for working out, being a stay at home mom, full-time online student, and taking care of the house, I really just don’t have time. And when I do, I’d rather spend my time with my husband. So that rules out the gym. I won’t walk around the block. I don’t like our town. It’s not pretty, and there really isn’t great walking places. Not to mention I would have to pack up both kids in the stroller, and then if I don’t want the dogs to tear apart the house, I need to take them as well. Three dogs and a stroller, is way to much, when you really want to work out.

I don’t own an elliptical, or a tread mill. Don’t get me wrong, I would love one, but I can’t see spending the money on it. So I looked at other choices. Then I found it…. I have Amazon Prime. I love Amazon prime. They are great about prices and shipping, but that’s not my point. (Amazon did not indorse this). Since I have prime, I have the ability to watch some movies on demand. This includes a crazy variety of exercise videos. And when I say crazy, I mean crazy. Some, I would not try if my life depends on it. I finally found it, Jillian Michaels. If you haven’t heard of her, she’s the insane work out lady who helps people on the Biggest Loser. Yep, if I’m feeling crappy about my weight, she’s the one who would kick it in gear.

Day 1, didn’t go so well. Twenty minutes into the video, I ended up collapsing and turning it off. Praying I would be able to breathe again. Day 2, not so bad. There are a lot of exercises I would have to stop and breathe for, but I made it. Day 3, hubby was home, so we decided to walk the round trip to the store. It was a good hour and a half walk. Not so bad…. then Day 4, hit. Day 4, I had a major migraine. The kind that I normally would go in to the doctor for it. So I had to skip. 1 day out of 4, I’m not doing to bad.

Today, I’m right back at it. I want to be fit. I want to be able to do things with my kids without being out of breath, or without getting any bigger. I want to get rid of anything that may hinder my chances of getting migraines to go away. And most of all, I don’t want to cringe when I look in the mirror. It’s going to be a bumpy road, but I can’t wait.

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

2 responses »

  1. Good luck with it! sounds like you’re starting off well 🙂 Remember to give your body a rest every few days.

    Reply

Stop by and chat a while

