RSS Feed

You hate the way you feel, what are you going to do about it?

My new work out

My new work out

(This post is not in any way sponsered by Jillian Michaels.)

I’m really tired of hearing people staying in toxic situations. They stay were they feel ugly, or stupid, or like they aren’t worth the air they breath. It’s abuse. And it’s NOT healthy. If you hate the person you see in the mirror, it’s not up to anybody else to fix it. It’s up to you. You have to climb out from under the rock you hide under and stand up for yourself. I know it’s easier when you have support, but in life, we don’t always get that support. I do thankfully have a husband that supports my working out, but when I was younger I had to motivate myself.

Every religion out there says you were created. Well, except maybe Agnostic. And if you’re agnostic, I just feel bad for you because you can’t make up your mind enough to believe in anything. But here’s the truth. If you believe in God, you believe you were created in the image of God. If you are Buddhist, you believe the world has been created dozens of times. The fact still remains, you believe you were created. If you are created, and there is a creator, then you were made to do what? CREATE. If we are made to create, then we create our own self destruction or thrive.

I hate the way I look. Two kids in two years has taken a toll on my body. I have curves in places that shouldn’t have curves and my face is so round I feel like I have marshmallows for cheeks. I can sit here and continue to hate how I look, or I can take a realistic look at my options and do something about it. I could go on one of those diets, but truthfully, I hate diets. I end up eating worse an gaining even more weight. I can go to the gym, I don’t have two/three hours to get ready, go work out, drive home, shower and hope my kids behave. I can go for a run. Yeah, that just sound miserable. So I opted to do dvd work outs. It’s great. I put it in when I have some time, get my work out in and then hopefully shower without two babies playing in the bottom of the tub. But either way, I’m done in the time frame I can manage.

I made a choice. I choose to do something about my self hate. Some people I’ve been talking to lately are in toxic relationships. They aren’t even in committed relationships, at least on the other end! Tell me this, how does it make sense to let someone live with you, treat you like hell, while you provide everything? Not to mention the fact that you may or may not have kids who are learning not to respect their mother WHO does the raising when jack a$$ decides you aren’t worth their time. I’m sorry. If it’s committed, I will leave that to you to decide, but if they aren’t even faithful, why THE HECK are you putting up with it? I can’t think of a single person who deserves that kind of life. You are of more value than that. You deserve someone who treats you with respect. You deserve someone who actually cares about your goals and plans for life. If you don’t have goals and plans, that’s part of your problem. You are allowing people to come in to YOUR life and take you feel bad about who you are.

When I was a teenager, I was bigger than most of my friends. I was taller, curvier, and just all around bigger. I put inspirational quotes, verses, and pictures of beautiful women who weren’t a size two in my mirror. Why? So I had a positive role model. You don’t like the way you are treated, take one step. Set one boundary and STICK with it.

You will not make me feel bad about myself. If you chose to say horrible things to me, I will choose to walk away (kick you out, punch you, whatever you have the courage to stick with!).

Once you have conquered one, take another step.

I don’t like the way I look, I will work out 2 days a week. After you get to 2 days, add a 3rd. After 3 add another day…. Keep baby stepping it until you look and feel the way you want to! I know this seems like common sense, but sometimes you have to step out in faith. You deserve better, just like I deserve to like the way I look.

Be realistic. Change won’t happen over night. It’s a decision you have to make every day. I can’t just choose to work out once and look amazing. And even if I do work out every day, I will never be a Victoria’s Secret model. I don’t think I’d even want to. Dang do those girls even know what a hamburger looks like? I just want to slim down a little and be the best version of me possible.

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

Stop by and chat a while

