RSS Feed

Trying Home Remedies, Oil Pulling

We’ve all heard of the weird home remedies… hell we’ve all probably tried a dozen or so and are to ashamed to admit it.
That’s how I feel about this weird thing I just heard about.

Oil Pulling.

Sounds like somebody’s idea a sick joke. Let’s see how many poor ignorant dopes we can get to put some type of organic oil in their mouth for 20 minutes and then spit it out. I’ll admit, the first couple times I saw it, I laughed at the idea. But then curiosity got the best of me. What is this new craze?

If you don’t know by now, I do as much research as I can. And if I’m not happy with that, I start asking around. I found a all natural mom’s group in my area and asked a few of them about it. They all swear by it. I got claims of healthier teeth, pinker gums, better skin, less migraines. You name it. So I thought I’d give it a try. Can’t hurt for a couple weeks right?

Day 1: Felt no different. In fact, the Olive Oil really didn’t look any different either
Day 2: The same
Day 3: I notice my skin is actually breaking out. Sometimes we have breakouts as the crap is being pulled out of our skin, so Maybe I’ll keep trying.

Day 4: Okay, now I have to admit. I’m not normally a drinker, but the night before, I had more than a glass of wine. Not enough to be considered drunk drunk, but enough that I was feeling icky the next day. So I tried Oil Pulling again…. Can I just say, ew!
The olive oil was thick and cloudy looking. It was no longer a liquid, but a thick bile looking thing. And then I decided, maybe there is something to this home remedy after all.

Day 5: That’s okay. And while I didn’t notice anything more than the first couple days, my teeth feel slick. Like they do after the dentist. My skin is still blotched up, but it’s not so bad that I want to run and hide. I’ll try to get some pictures before I post this, but I think I’m going to stick it out. We’ll see what happens the next couple days.

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

Stop by and chat a while

