RSS Feed

It’s Time to Move

  

I feel like my family is entering a new phase of life. We’ve been at our new duty station for almost a year and a half now. My littlest bug is nine months, and my older two are starting to like each other. 

So what happens next? Mama gets fit. 

I have the big 3-0 looming over my head, and I want to start it off right. So I’ve been going to the gym. The goal is five days a week, but even three makes me happy. I haven’t lost amazing amounts of weight, but if you look at my side by side photos, it’s starting to be obvious. 

I take advantage of the fact that my husband loves bedtime and I go while he puts our three littles to bed. I take an hour to run or lift some weights and just sort of breathe. The doggies like that sometimes instead of the gym, we go on a long walk. It’s helped my mood, it’s given me more energy to get things done, and I genuinely like running. There’s always that feeling of accomplishment when I’m done. 

It’s also making me start to watch what I eat. I haven’t intentionally switched, but why would I do all of that work, just to eat junk and feel yucky. Even more, I’ve talked hubby into juicing again. He feels better with more veggies and it’s the one way he actually eats them. So guess who got her butt up at 530 this morning to do it for him. And since I was up, I ended up making him lunch. Going for wifey of the year award, not. But I’ve already had a serving of veggies, a glass of water and now I’m curled up in bed to hopefully get one more hour of sleep before our little monsters get up for the day. Monday’s there is no preschool, so it’s mommy and kids all day.

One more thing, life changes don’t happen overnight. I struggle daily to get the motivation to go to the gym. Take one step. The hardest part is believing you can.

About Military Bride

Military Bride is my view of the world from a veteran, spouse, and mommy perspective. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but I don’t mind sharing triumphs and tears with you. I joined the Military at the age of 21, and met my husband not to long after. We’ve been married a little over 3 years, and have a beautiful baby boy. My life has already gone through drastic changes, from getting out of the military, to becoming a mommy and going back to school. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

One response »

  1. Kathy Summers

    I applaud you Ashley. You have great motivation. You will reach your goal.

    Reply

Stop by and chat a while

